Education Agents
ENGLISH SCHOOLS

WORLDWIDE

 

University of Oregon

American English Institute
Eugene, Oregon United States

  Website

 

School Introduction

The University of Oregon , one of the most active research universities in the United States in promoting internatialization, is renowned for its schools of architectures, business, music and education. UO is also nationally acclaimed for our work in biomechanics, computer science, genetics and neuroscience. The University is located in the safe friendly city of Eugene in the lush Willamette valley between the Pacific Coast and the Cascade mountains. Eugene is 100 miles south of Portland, and both Seattle and San Francisco are possible weekend destinations.

ESL Program Introduction

The American English Institute offers a seven level (true beginner to advanced) intensive English program that helps prepare students for university study and improve their English communication skills. Our teachers are university faculty with international teaching experience and are well-known for their work in such areas as English for Business, Computer-Aided Language Learning, and Intercultural Communication.

At the beginning English levels, students practice English reading, writing and conversation, and videos and readings are used in an exciting and practical way. Intermediate level students use interesting fiction and non-fiction books to practice reading and writing, and listening, discussion and note-taking skills are stressed. The reading, writing and listening and speaking activities at the advanced levels help students develop skills at the level needed for success at a US university. All students can choose to meet a tutor--an American university student--who can work with them one-on-one for two hours per week for free. AEI students can also take extra classes at no extra charge. Examples include TOEFL preparation, Pronunciation, Listening and Note-taking, and Business English. All classes are on campus.

AEI students are also University of Oregon students, so they can use all the facilities and services on campus. They get a UO ID card that entitles them to free city bus service, admission to the UO student recreation center, use of the UO Health Center and UO library system, and a free UO e-mail account.

Background Data

Schedule & Fees

2013-2014 Academic Year Costs

Academic Calendar | Summer Costs | Other Costs
Estimated Cost of Attendance (10 week / Term)*

Tuition and fees for the Intensive English Program (IEP) are determined annually by the AEI Executive Committee and the Department of Linguistics, and enables the IEP to provide small intensive-language classes, individualized advising by resident faculty, and programming designed to help students integrate into the campus and community life. As always, the AEI remains committed to making the educational experience of IEP students one of the best in the country while still remaining affordable.
Academic Year 2013-14 Rates (Fall, Winter, Spring)

IEP Tuition and Fees (Full-time) $3, 295

UO International Student Fees $125

University Fees $494.25

Intíl Student Health Insurance (Obligatory) $388

IEP Tuition and UO Fees $4, 302.25

Housing Options (average estimate per term): $2, 658

A) Residence Hall (costs vary by term), 2013-14 rate pending


Fall Term (16 meals per week) $3, 663

Winter Term (16 meals per week) $3, 556

Spring Term (16 meals per week) $3, 555

B) Homestay (private room and 2 meals per day included) based on 2 months + 9 day average: $1, 380

C) Local Apartment (average costs) meals not included


1 bedroom: $750 per month: $2, 250

2 bedroom: $900 per month: $2, 700

Quad: $500 per month: $1, 500

Living Expenses: $900

Books and School Supplies $150

Estimated - Living Expenses $3, 708

Estimate Total Tuition & Fees + Living Expenses $8, 010

For Summer rates, see https://aei.uoregon.edu/iep/costs

Other costs:
IEP Application Fee, one-time, non-refundable fee $110

AEI Homestay Application Fee, one-time, non-refundable fee $150

UO Campus Housing Application Fee, one-time, non-refundable fee ($25 Summer) $50

Language Placement Test - Accuplacer $16

Late Testing Fee $45

Late Registration Fee $110

Enrollment Deferral Express Mailing Fee $45

* The AEI runs on the UO term calendar system (Fall, Winter, Spring, and Summer). Costs are subject to change.

Calendar:

Fall Term 2013
IEP application deadline Friday, July 12
Homestay deadline Friday, August 2
On-Campus Residence Halls open Friday, September 27
New IEP Student Orientation/Testing Monday, September 30
Registration/Placement Friday, October 3
IEP Classes Begin Monday, October 7
Tuition/Fee Payment Deadline Friday, November 8
Thanksgiving Holiday Thursday/Friday, November 28/29
IEP Classes End Friday, December 6

Winter Term 2014
IEP Application deadline Friday, October 18, 2013
Homestay deadline Friday, November 1
On-Campus Residence Halls open Sunday, January 5, 2014
New Student Orientation/Testing Monday, January 6
Registration/Placement Friday, January 10
IEP Classes Begin Monday, January 13
Tuition/Fee Payment Deadline Friday, February 7
IEP Classes End Friday, March 14

Spring Term 2014
Application deadline January 10, Friday
Homestay deadline January 31, Friday
Residency hall open March 30, Sunday
New Student Orientation/Testing March 31, Monday
Placement / Registration April 3, Thursday
IEP Classes Begin April 7, Monday
Tuition/Fee Payment Deadline May 2, Friday
IEP Classes End June 6, Friday

Summer Term 2014
IEP Application deadline April 4, Friday
AEI Homestay deadline April 25, Friday
Residency hall open June 22, Sunday
New Student Orientation/Testing Begins June 23, Monday
Placement / Registration June 27, Friday
IEP Classes Begin June 30, Monday
Tuition/Fee Payment Deadline August 8, Friday
IEP Classes End August 29, Friday

Special Courses & Features

Housing/Accommodation Info

AEI has its own homestay program. Homestay families are screened and checked before students are sent to live there. Support and advising is available throughout the year.

Contact Info

American English Institute
University of Oregon
107 Pacific Hall
5212 University of Oregon
Eugene, OR 97403

Tel
541-346-3945
Fax
541-346-3917
Website